[Electronic Antiquity]

ELECTRONIC ANTIQUITY:
COMMUNICATING THE CLASSICS

Current Editor
Terry Papillon, Terry.Papillon@vt.edu

February 2003
Volume 7, Number 1

DLA Ejournal Home | Electronic Antiquity Home | Table of Contents for this issue | Search ElAnt and other ejournals

ARTICLES:

Tradition and Originality: Aspects of Athenian Forensic Oratory in the Late Fifth and Early Fourth Centuries B. C.

David Whitehead
Queen's University, Belfast
d.whitehead@qub.ac.uk

REVIEWS:

Memories of Odysseus, François Hartog. Translated by Janet Lloyd, forward by Paul Cartledge. Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press, 2001. ISBN 0-226-31852-4 (cloth), 0-226-31853-2 (paper). Pp.252.

Reviewed by Leon Golden
Florida State University, USA
lgolden@mailer.fsu.edu

Spartan Reflections, Paul Cartledge. Berkeley & Los Angeles: University of California Press / London: Duckworth, 2001. ISBN 0-520-23123-6. Pp. xii + 276.

Reviewed by Nick Fisher
School of History and Archaeology, Cardiff University, Wales
FisherN@Cardiff.ac.uk

The Archaeology of Athens, by John M. Camp, New Haven and London: Yale University Press, 2001. Pp. xii + 340. ISBN 0-300-08197-9. $39.95 (hardcover).

Reviewed by Tyler Jo Smith
University of Virginia, USA
tjs6e@virginia.edu

The Parthenon Frieze, Jenifer Neils. CD-ROM by Rachel Rosenzweig. Cambridge, New York, Melbourne: Cambridge University Press, 2001. ISBN 0-521-64161-6 (hardback). Pp. xix + 294, with 174 black-and-white illustrations.

Reviewed by Tom Stevenson
Dept. of Classics and Ancient History, University of Auckland, New Zealand
t.stevenson@auckland.ac.nz

The Secret Lore of Egypt. Its Impact on the West, Erik Hornung. Translated by David Lorton. Ithaca and London: Cornell University Press, 2001. ISBN 0-8014-3847-0. Pp. viii + 229. $ 29.95.

Reviewed by Anthony Spalinger
University of Auckland, New Zealand
a.spalinger@auckland.ac.nz

The Search for God in Ancient Egypt, Jan Assmann. Translated by David Lorton. 1st English-edition, with revisions and additions. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2001. ISBN 0801487293. Pp. xi, 275

Reviewed by Kasia Szpakowska
Department of Classics and Ancient History, University of Wales Swansea
K.Szpakowska@swansea.ac.uk

Interpreting Late Antiquity, G.W. Bowersock, P. Brown, and O. Grabar (Cambridge MA and London, Harvard University Press, 2001). ISBN 0-674-00598-8 (paper). Pp.336.

Reviewed by David Rohrbacher
New College of Florida, USA
rohrbacher@ncf.edu


DLA Ejournal Home | Electronic Antiquity Home | Table of Contents for this issue | Search ElAnt and other ejournals