Logo for the Journal American Rhododendron Society

Journal American Rhododendron Society

Current Editor:
Dr. Glen Jamieson ars.editor@gmail.com

Volume 13, Number 4
October 1959

DLA Ejournal Home | QBARS Home | Table of Contents for this issue | Search JARS and other ejournals

American Rhododendron Society Standing Committees, 1959-1960

The American Rhododendron Society
August 5, 1959

Dear Member:
        As has been announced in the A.R.S. Bulletin, an International Rhododendron Conference, to be held in Portland, Oregon, is being planned for 1961. It is going to require a great deal of planning and work to accomplish this in a manner of which we shall all be proud. The Directors of the A.R.S. have given it considerable thought and discussion and have authorized me to appoint committees to plan the various activities connected with an undertaking of this kind.
        It did not seem feasible to contact every individual personally and get his consent to serve on a committee. This is, therefore, a request to all members on the list to please serve, or let me know that you do not wish to do so. I hope you will serve. If you would prefer a different committee assignment please let me know.
        To Committee Chairman: If there are members you would like to add to your committee please feel free to do so, letting me know so the complete committee roster can be published in the Bulletin.

J. Harold Clarke, President

     As given for the Conference. To consider also -
     Score Cards
     Color Classification

     To be appointed after consultation with Chapter Presidents.

J. Harold Clarke, Long Beach, Washington-Registrar

Test Gardens (General development and supervision.)
     Dr. Carl Phetteplace, Eugene, Oregon-Chairman
     Carl Fawcett, Tacoma, Washington
     Mrs. C. T. Hansen, Portland, Oregon;
     (Direct supervision of Test Gardens will be in the hands of local committees.)

     Rudolph Henny-Chairman
     Bob Bovee
     Mrs. C. T. Hansen
     Mrs. Grothaus
     P. H. Brydon

     As given for the Conference

     W. D. Riddlesbarger-Chairman
     John Bates
     Wales Wood 
     James Selder 
     The Secretary-Treasurer, ex-officio


Awards (To review the awards system and make recommendations to the Board.)
     P. H. Brydon-Chairman
     Rudolph Henny
     Howard Slonecker
     Bob Bovee
     Oscar Neet

Test Garden, National
     Ted Hansen-Chairman

International Rhododendron Conference Committees
May 12, 13, 14, 1961

Over All Committee 
The A.R.S. Directors

     Brian Mulligan-Chairman
     Mrs. Hansen
     Dr. Thomas Wheeldon, Richmond, Va.
     Dr. Clement Bowers, Maine, N.Y.
     P. H. Brydon, Salem, Ore.
     Dr. Henry Skinner, Washington, D.C.
     Dr. William Corbin, Portland, Ore.

     Ted Hansen-Chairman
     Dr. Lingren
     Dr. Berthelsdorf
     William Robinson
     Herb Schink
     Mrs. William Corbin
     Mrs. A. W. Kraxberger

     Bob Snodgrass, Portland, Ore. Chairman
     George Grace, Portland, Ore.
     Cecil Smith, Aurora, Ore.
     John Henny, Brooks, Ore.
     Wallace Ruff, Eugene, Ore.
     Ralph C. Jacobson, Seattle, Wash.
     Joe Klupenger, Portland, Ore.
     Don McClure, Seattle, Wash.
     Dr. R. M. Overstreet, Eugene, Ore.
     Arthur Myhre, Puyallup, Wash.
     Donald L. Patrick, Portland, Ore.
     Mrs. O. R. Neet, Portland, Ore.
     Mrs. Ben Torpen, Beaverton, Ore.
     Mrs. C. T. Hansen, Portland, Ore.

     Bob Bovee-Chairman
     John Bates
     Ed Dunn 
     Rudolph Henny
     Carl Fawcett
     Dr. Phetteplace
     Mrs. Kollowratek
     Mrs. Cyrus Walker
     Mrs. F. G. Bleeg

     Mrs. Louis Grothaus-Chairman
     Mrs. Robert Bovee
     Rudolph Henny
     Dr. Milton V. Walker

Volume 13, Number 4
October 1959

DLA Ejournal Home | QBARS Home | Table of Contents for this issue | Search JARS and other ejournals