QBARS - v30n4 American Rhododendron Society Members Take Top American Horticultural Society Awards


Five of the seven top awards given by the American Horticultural Society for 1976 have gone to ARS members.
The Liberty Hyde Bailey Medal, the most prestigious annual honor given in American Horticulture, has been awarded to Dr. Leon C. Snyder, Director of the University of Minnesota's Landscape Arboretum. Dr. Snyder is a member of the Great Lakes Chapter.
Mrs. Julian W. Hill, Philadelphia Chapter, received the Amateur Citation. She is particularly known to ARS members for her work with R. nakaharai in producing the North Tisbury Hybrids.
P. H. Brydon, Portland Chapter, received the Professional Citation. "Jock" was the recipient of the ARS Gold Medal in 1974, is a former editor of the ARS Quarterly and was instrumental in the formation and development of the Rhododendron Species Foundation.
Dr. Richard A. Jaynes, Connecticut Chapter, is one of the country's leading authorities on chestnut blight. His plant breeding interests include Pieris , Rhododendron and Kalmia . He is author of the recently published The Laurel Book . He received the scientific citation.
Andre Viette, New York Chapter, received the Commercial Citation - Individual.