QBARS - v34n1 Nominating Committee Report

Nominating Committee Report

The Nominating Committee proposes the following list of six nominees from which four directors will be elected for three-year terms starting June 1980. Each member should vote for four nominees. The four nominees receiving the highest number of votes will be elected to the National Board of Directors. As in past years, positions on the ballot have been drawn by lot to avoid any possibility of ballot position influencing the occasional voter.

H. FORMAN CANTRELL, Ph. D Piedmont, S.C. Southeastern Chapter, clinical microbiologist, Greenville (S.C.) Hospital System; enthusiastic grower and collector of hybrids, species, evergreen azaleas and deciduous azaleas; founding member, former secretary and former board member of the William Bartram Chapter; former board member, flower show co-chairman and vice president of the Southeastern Chapter; current president of the Southeastern Chapter; program chairman and organizer of joint regional (Southeastern area) meetings in 1978 and 1979; presents chapter programs; flower show judge; contributor to A.R.S. seed exchange and to A.R.S. Quarterly Bulletin.

RAYMOND C. HUEY Springfield, Oregon Eugene Chapter; past president Eugene Chapter; Board of Directors Species Foundation; chairman 1977 National Convention; past Western Vice President A.R.S.; rhododendron collector; personnel director.

SANDRA McDONALD, Ph. D. Hampton, Virginia Middle Atlantic Chapter; Secretary-Treasurer of chapter; member chapter board of directors; editor of chapter newsletter; former director Tidewater Chapter; truss show judge and speaker on rhododendrons; also member of Potomac Valley Chapter and associate member of several other chapters; plant geneticist and breeder of azaleas and rhododendrons, horticulturist, propagator and pest management supervisor for Le-Mac Nurseries, Inc., wholesale growers of azaleas and rhododendrons.

ALFRED S. MARTIN Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Philadelphia Chapter; past president of the Society; active in national affairs since 1962 and has attended most national board meetings since that time; served two terms as national director and four years as first Eastern Vice President; currently Chairman of Trustees A.R.S. Research Foundation; on numerous national committees and has been active locally; awarded Bronze Medal by Philadelphia Chapter and received Gold Medal in 1976.

ROBERT L. TICKNOR, Ph.D. Canby, Oregon Portland Chapter; past President and Secretary-Treasurer of the A.R.S.; awarded Gold Medal of the Society; active on Ratings Committee; board member Rae Selling Berry Botanical Garden; Professor of Horticulture, Oregon State University; interested in breeding and nutrition of azaleas and rhododendrons.

MARGE FARWELL Woodside California Chapter; founding member and life member of California Chapter and current past president; also founding member of San Mateo Chapter and past president of that chapter; has served one term as National Director; on local level has served with distinction on numerous boards and committees of the Society for many years; co-proprietor of Farwell Rhododendron Nursery in Woodside, California.

Respectfully submitted,
Dr. Don S. Kellam, Jr.
A. Hadley Osborn
Dr. Robert L. Ticknor
Alfred S. Martin
Dr. August E. Kehr, Chairman