JARS v43n3 - ARS Board Meeting Highlights

ARS Board Meeting Highlights

The ARS Board of Directors met on April 26th at the Empress Hotel, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, and took action on several items of interest to members.

New Officers and Directors
Newly elected officers include President Austin Kennell, Western Vice-president Everett Farwell, Jr., Eastern Vice-president A. Richard Brooks, Treasurer Joe W. Jones and Executive Secretary Barbara Hall. New board members are District 1 Director Clive Justice, District 2 Director Jeanine Smith, District 7 Director Allan Anderson and District 10 Director Mary Beasley. J. Powell Huie will serve the remainder of A. Richard Brooks' term as District 6 Director.

Service Recognition
The board expressed appreciation and thanks to the outgoing officers, President Harold Greer and Executive Secretary Paula Cash and to the retiring board members, District 1 Director Harold Johnson, District 2 Director Bob Badger, District 7 Director Patricia Walton and District 10 Director Donald Kellam, Jr.

Executive Secretary
Barbara Hall, our new Executive Secretary, comes to the job with office and computer experience as well as a high level of enthusiasm. A Mid-Atlantic Chapter member, Barbara was the coordinator for the 1988 ARS Convention in Williamsburg, Virginia. Like Paula Cash, she not only enjoys growing rhododendrons, she enjoys rhododendron people.
Barbara spent two weeks in May working with Paula. Together they prepared the ARS computer, records and other office materials and books for the move. The transition is complete and the new ARS office is ready to serve you.

New Chapters
Paula Cash presented petitions for the formation of two new chapters. The Cowichan Valley Chapter is in the Duncan, British Columbia area, north of Victoria on Vancouver Island. Also in British Columbia is the Fraser South Chapter, located in the Langley, Aldergrove, Surrey area on the south side of the Fraser river. Both petitions were unanimously approved. Welcome to these two new groups and special thanks to Harold Johnson for providing leadership in their formation.

Dues Increase
The Board of Directors voted to increase dues by $5 per year, effective for the year 1990. Half this increase, $2.50, will remain with the chapters. The other half will go to help meet the national budget.