Volume 22, Number 2
Winter 1995
Kay Bushman
Ottawa High School, Ottawa, Kansas

News from ALAN
The ALAN Award for outstanding contribution to the field of young adult literature was presented to Walter Dean Myers at the ALAN breakfast on November 19, 1994, in Orlando, Florida. Myers is the author of numerous young adult books, including Fallen Angels , Somewhere in the Darkness , Now Is Your Time , Malcolm X: By Any Means Necessary , and The Glory Fields .

Election results were also announced in Orlando by election chairperson Lois Stover . President-elect is Arthea "Charlie" Reed . The new directors serving three-year terms are Chris Crowe (Brigham Young University), Ann Wilder (Southern High School, Durham, North Carolina), and Connie Zitlow (Ohio Wesleyan University). They will join the other board members: Diana Mitchell , president; Virginia Monseau , past-president; Ted Hipple , executive secretary; and John H. (Jack) Bushman , Patricia Campbell , Rosemary Ingham , John Mason , Lois Stover , and Alan Teasley , directors.

Recipients of the ALAN Foundation for Young Adult Literature are Caroline S. McKinney of the University of Colorado for "An Analysis of the Quality of Strength in Female Characters in Young Adult Literature: 1950-1994"; John Noell Moore of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University for "Reading and Interpreting the Young Adult Novel: Working with Contemporary Literary Theory"; and Janet Rahamut of Lee College in Tennessee for "Family Relationships in the Novels of Sue Ellen Bridgers, Cynthia Voigt, and Paul Zindel." These grants for up to $1,000 are awarded annually and funded by royalties from Don Gallo's short story anthologies; by publishers of young adult books; and by a portion of ALAN dues. Applications from these grants are available from Ted Hipple, 301 Claxton Hall, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37996-3400 , and must be submitted by September 15.

The 1995 ALAN Workshop "A Swelling Symphony of Voices and Views" will be held in San Diego, California, November 20-21, following the annual NCTE Conference November 16-19. The ALAN Breakfast will be Saturday, November 18.

News of Awards
The Bank Street College Annual Children's Book Committee Award was presented to Virginia Euwer Wolff for Make Lemonade (Holt).

Russell Freedman has been granted the first Flora Stieglitz Straus Award as well as the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for nonfiction for Eleanor Roosevelt: A Life of Discovery (Clarion).

The 1994 John and Patricia Beatty Award for a book that best promotes an awareness of California and its people was given to Laurence Yep for Dragon's Gate (HarperCollins).

Robert Cormier 's We All Fall Down (Delacorte) was the winner of the Young Adult division of the 1993-94 California Young Reader Award.

The 1994 Young Reader's Choice Award from students throughout the Pacific Northwest was presented to Phyllis Reynolds Naylor in the fourth-through-the-eighth-grade division for Shiloh (Atheneum) and Ann Rinaldi in the senior division for Wolf by the Ears (Scholastic).

Stella Pevsner 's How Could You Do It, Diane? (Clarion) won the 1993-94 Virginia Young Readers Award.

The 1993 Sydney Taylor Book Award presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries honoring outstanding books of positive Jewish content for older children was given to Carol Matas for Sworn Enemies (Bantam).

Avi 's The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (Orchard) was the winner of the 1994 Utah Young Adult Book Award.

Lois Duncan 's Don't Look Behind You (Delacorte) was the winner of the 1994 Volunteer State Book Award from Tennessee.

The Giver (Houghton Mifflin) by Lois Lowry was the winner of the William Allen White Book Award in Kansas.

The Virginia Association of Teachers of English announces the publicaton of Adolescent Literature: Making Connections with Teens , edited by Warren Self and Patricia P. Kelly, former ALAN president. This work includes 26 articles (150 pages) by such writers as Sissi Carroll, Bob Small, Chris Crowe, Cheryl Christian, Joanne Brown, Betty Poe, Luanne Reid, and Lynne Alvine. The articles range from critical analyses to teaching applications. Copies may be purchased for $7.95, which includes shipping, by writing to Virginia Association of Teachers of English, c/o Patricia Kelly, College of Education, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0313 .

Do you have any announcements regarding conferences, publications, or awards in the area of Young Adult literature? If so, send them to Kay Parks Bushman, Ottawa High School, Ottawa, Kansas 66067 . Deadlines are as follows: March 15 (spring issue), July 15 (fall issue), and November 15 (winter issue).