JARS v44n1 - ARS Welcomes Two New Chapters

ARS Welcomes Two New Chapters
Barbara R. Hall, Executive Secretary|
Gloucester, Virginia

At the October 13, 1989, meeting of the American Rhododendron Society National Board of Directors, the Ozark Area Chapter and the Mt. Arrowsmith Rhododendron Society were approved as our 61st and 62nd chapters.

This chapter covers the four state area of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas and Missouri. Meetings will be held at locations throughout the chapter's large geographic area. Grove, Oklahoma and Fayetteville, Arkansas have already hosted meetings and the spring meeting is scheduled for Clinton, Arkansas. The chapter officers are Leonard O. Miller, D.D.S., President; W. Schuyler Cox, Vice President; and Keith G. Johansson, Secretary/Treasurer. They publish a newsletter which is a valuable source of information for gardeners in areas where heat stress is a factor. Their members are combining their talents and experience to determine the planting methods and heat tolerant varieties that yield successful rhododendron plantings, in spite of adverse growing conditions. They are anxious to share this information with others and to welcome more members to their chapter. I urge non chapter members in that area to contact me if you would like to have your membership affiliated with this exciting new chapter. We wish them the best!

Meeting in Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, a resort and retirement community on Vancouver Island, this vigorous new chapter draws members from the surrounding Vancouver Island area, including Parksville and Port Alberni. The organizers, who were members of the North Island Chapter, felt the need to start this new chapter in order to shorten the distances members had to drive to attend chapter meetings. According to District Director Clive Justice, the area enjoys a benign rhododendron growing climate, USDA Zone 8. The new chapter takes its name from Mount Arrowsmith, situated between the Alberni Valley and the flat eastern coastal area of Vancouver Island's midsection. The founding chapter officers are Everett Jefferson, President; Frank Allen, Vice President; Bud Schaupmeyer, Secretary; Jim Greig, Treasurer; and Elaine DeRooy, Membership Chairman. These energetic folks are already meeting regularly and publishing a newsletter. We congratulate them and welcome them to our growing family!