JITE v39n2 - Twenty-Third Annual Outstanding Manuscript Award Recipients

Volume 39, Number 2
Winter 2002

Twenty-Third Annual Outstanding Manuscript Award Recipients

Journal of Industrial Teacher Education

Each year the Editorial Board of the Journal of Industrial Teacher Education acknowledges excellence in writing through its Outstanding Manuscript Awards. The awards task force, consisting of current and former Journal editors and officers of NAITTE, reviewed each published refereed manuscript from Volume 38 of the Journal. The members first determined whether the manuscript merited recognition and then ranked the selected manuscripts. Individual rankings were combined to determine the recipient in each of the award categories. The awards task force for Volume 38 consisted of Dr. Rodney L. Custer, Illinois State University; Dr. Thomas L. Erekson, Brigham Young University; Dr. Sam Stern, Oregon State University; Dr. Thomas J. Walker, Temple University; and Dr. Karen F. Zuga, The Ohio State University. The Editorial Board of the Journal of Industrial Teacher Education extends warm thanks to these individuals for their assistance in the awards selection process and for their continued service and commitment to NAITTE and the profession.

The Outstanding Manuscript Awards are presented to authors of refereed manuscripts based on three categories: research, conceptual, and dissertation. The Outstanding Research Manuscript is selected from published articles that were data based. The Outstanding Research Manuscript for Volume 38 was co-authored by Sharon A. Brusic and James E. LaPorte of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Their article, published in the Fall 2000 edition, was entitled The Status of Modular Technology Education in Virginia. The authors examined the effectiveness of modular laboratories as perceived by Virginia educators. The authors provided comparisons for the attributes of various types of technology education learning environments.

The Outstanding Conceptual Manuscript Award is chosen from philosophical, historical, curricular, or expository pieces. Theodore Lewis, University of Minnesota, authored the Outstanding Conceptual Manuscript for Volume 38. His article entitled Adopting Standards for Technology Education provided both a case for standards and a case against standards. Lewis also posed and addressed questions related to what the standards might mean for the profession.

The Outstanding Dissertation Manuscript award is selected from articles that report the findings of a thesis or dissertation. To be considered in this category the article cannot be co-authored. The Outstanding Dissertation Manuscript for Volume 38 was authored by Virginia M. Osgood who was awarded her Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University under the supervision of Dr. James Gregson. Osgood's article, which appeared in issue Number 2, was entitled Mentoring for Beginning Trade and Industrial Education Teachers: A Case Study.

Outstanding Manuscript Award recipients were recognized at the NAITTE Breakfast at the Association for Career and Technical Education Conference in December 2001. The recipients were presented plaques for their achievement. Once again, the Journal Editorial Board and NAITTE congratulate the award recipients of Volume 38.

George E. Rogers
Associate Editor
Tracy Gilmore