JITE v44n4 - Twenty-Eighth Annual Outstanding Manuscript Award Recipients

Volume 44, Number 4
Winter 2007


Twenty-Eighth Annual Outstanding Manuscript Award Recipients

Journal of Industrial Teacher Education

Each year the Editorial Board of the Journal of Industrial Teacher Education acknowledges excellence in writing through its Outstanding Manuscript Awards. The awards task force, consisting of current and former Journal editors and officers of NAITTE, reviewed each published refereed manuscript from Volume 43, Issues 1-3, of the Journal. The members first determined whether the manuscript merited recognition and then ranked the selected manuscripts. Individual rankings were combined to determine the recipient in each of the award categories. The awards task force for Volume 43 consisted of Daniel Brown, Janet Burns, Charles Gagel, Marie Hoepfl, Kara Harris, and George Rogers. The Editorial Board of the Journal of Industrial Teacher Education extends warm thanks to these individuals for their assistance in the awards selection process and for their continued service and commitment to NAITTE and the profession.

The Outstanding Manuscript Awards are presented to authors of refereed manuscripts based on three categories: research, conceptual, and dissertation. The Outstanding Research Manuscript is selected from published articles that were data based. The Outstanding Research Manuscript for Volume 43 was co-authored by James C. Flowers and Holly Baltzer of Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana. Their article, published in the Fall, 2006 edition, was entitled Hiring Technical Education Faculty: Vacancies, Criteria, and Attitudes Toward Online Doctoral Degrees. The authors provided information to university departments as they considered offering online doctoral programs in technical education. This report utilized finding from department chairs and program coordinators to characterize faculty vacancies at the bachelor’s and masters levels in post-secondary levels.

The Outstanding Conceptual Manuscript Award is chosen from philosophical, historical, curricular, or expository pieces. Richard A. Walter of Pennsylvania State University authored the Outstanding Conceptual Manuscript for Volume 43 Number 4. His article entitled Developing and Effective Workforce through Instructor Training provided an insight into skilled instructors and that a properly trained instructor can do a much better job than an untrained instructor.

The Outstanding Dissertation Manuscript award is selected from articles that report the findings of a thesis or dissertation. The Outstanding Dissertation Manuscript for Volume 43 was co-authored by Edward J Lazaros of Ball State University and George E. Rogers of Purdue University. Their article, which appeared in issue Volume 43 Number 2, was entitled Critical Problems Facing Technology Education: Perceptions of Indiana Teachers.

The Outstanding Manuscript Award recipients were recognized at the NAITTE Breakfast at the Association for Career and Technical Education Conference in December 2005. The recipients were presented plaques for their achievement. Once again, the Journal Editorial Board and NAITTE congratulate the award recipients of Volume 43.

by Tracy Gilmore