JSTE - Bits and Pieces

Journal of Industrial Teacher Education


Information for Authors

The Journal of sTEm Teacher Education is published three times annually by the Association for sTEm Teacher Education. The Journal , formerly the Journal of Industrial Teacher Education , was first published in 1963 and is one of the most respected refereed journals in the profession. Past copies of the Journal can be accessed at: http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/JITE/ .

The Journal's refereed articles can be in one of three categories: 1) research-based manuscripts, 2) conceptual pieces, and 3) dissertation-based manuscripts. Additionally "At Issue" essays, "Comments" and "Under Review" (reviews of books and media) are published. All published work focuses on science, engineering, technology and mathematics (STEM) teacher education, with a dedicated emphasis on the T&E of STEM.

Submission Requirements

All manuscripts submitted for publication must be accompanied by a cover letter that specifies the section of the Journal for which the manuscript is intended and an abstract that describes the essence of the manuscript in 150 words or less. Manuscripts must conform the guidelines provided in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Use APA’s “place table here” in the text for tables and figures, and place them at the end of the manuscript. Manuscripts should be submitted in electronic form as email attachments or as files on a CD/ disk.

Submission Address
Dr. Robert T. Howell, Editor
Technology Studies Department
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Hays, KS 67601
Telephone: (785) 628-4211
E-mail: bhowell@fhsu.edu

Manuscripts that do not meet submission requirements will be retuned outright to the author. Manuscripts must be the original work of the author(s) and not have been published, be awaiting publication, or under publication considering by another source. Authors must be current members of the Association for sTEm Teacher Education. (Membership details attached.)

Change of Address and Undelivered Issues of the Journal

AsTEmTE members should forward any changes in their mailing address and report undelivered copies of JSTE to:

Emily McKinley
2129 Cumulus Ct.
West Lafayette, IN 47906

AsTEmTE members should encourage libraries and reading rooms at their institutions to subscribe to JSTE so that a permanent file of this publication is maintained. Three-year subscriptions to the Journal are available to institutions. Institutional subscription inquiries, changes of address, or problems with delivery should be directed to:

Emily McKinley
2129 Cumulus Ct.
West Lafayette, IN 47906

Undelivered copies of JSTE resulting from unreported changes of address will not be replaced without charge.

Request for Back Issues of the Journal

Back issues of the Journal of sTEm Teacher Education (JSTE) are available on a limited basis. Please specify the year(s), volume(s), and issue(s) of the specific journal(s) when ordering. Also indicate the quantity desired. The cost for a back issue of the Journal is $14.00 (United States and Canada) and $17.50 (foreign). There is no charge for shipping.

Order Form

Name ______________________________________________________________
Address ___________________________________________________________
City ____________ State/Province ________ Zip Code ______________

Please send, if available, the following back issues of the Journal of sTEm Teacher Education.

Year Volume Issue Quantity
_________ ________ ________ ________
_________ ________ ________ ________
_________ ________ ________ ________

Total Enclosed $__________

Make check payable to AsTEmTE, in U.S. dollars only. Mail this form and remittance to:

Emily McKinley
2129 Cumulus Ct.
West Lafayette, IN 47906

Membership Rates and Periods

The fee for regular yearly membership in ASTEMTE is $50 for U.S. and $60 for international. Student membership is $15 per year. Student membership applications must contain signatures of the department chair from the student’s institution. The membership year runs from January 1 st through December 31 st . To receive services listed for a full membership year, membership applications must be received by March 5. All membership applications received after September 1 st will cause membership services to begin on the following January 1 st .

Membership Application and Renewal

Position                    Classification                Membership Type
__ College administrator  __ Technology Ed.             __ U.S. ($50)
__ Teacher educator       __ Trade and industrial       __ Foreign ($60)
__ Secondary/elementary        Education                __ Student ($15)
    School administrator  __ Technical education        __ Institutional
__ Federal or state       __ Industrial and military    ($150)(not Library)
    government employee      training                    Status
__ Industrial trainer     __ Other______________        __ New member
__ Military trainer                                     __ Renewal

Signature of Department Chair* _______________________________________________

Name _________________________________________________________________________

Employer _____________________________________________________________________

Address ______________________________________________________________________

City __________________ State/Province ____________ Zip Code _________________

*Required for student membership only

Make check payable to AsTEmTE. Mail form and remittance to:

Emily McKinley
2129 Cumulus Ct.
West Lafayette, IN 47906

JITE Editors 1963 – Present


Volume(s) Dates
Ralph C. Bohn 1 1963-1964
Robert W. Worthington 2, 3 1964-1966
Carl J. Schaefer 4, 5 1966-1968
Jerome Moss, Jr. 6, 7 1968-1970
David C. Bjorkquist 8, 9 1970-1972
David C. Bjorkquist &
H. C. Kasanas
10 1972-1973
H. C. Kasanas 11 1973-1974
Ronald W. Stadt 12, 13 1974-1976
Richard C. Erickson 14, 15 1976-1978
Richard A. Swanson 16, 17 1978-1980
Roger W. Haskell 18, 19 1980-1982
Patrick A. O’Reilly 20, 21 1982-1984
David L. Passmore 22, 23 1984-1986
Patrick W. Miller 24, 25 1986-1988
Thomas J. Walker 26, 27 1988-1990
Dennis R. Herschbach 28, 29 1990-1992
Frank C. Pratzner 30, 31 1992-1994
Scott C. Johnson 32, 33 1994-1996
Rodney L. Custer 34, 35 1996-1998
Karen F. Zuga 36, 37 1998-2000
Marie C. Hoepfl 38, 39 2000-2002
George E. Rogers 40, 41 2002-2004
Janet Z. Burns 42, 43 2004-2006
Richard A. Walter 44, 45 2006-2008
Robert T. Howell 46, 47 2009-2011

Association for sTEm Teacher Education
P.O. Box 2089, West Lafayette, IN 47996

Association Officers:
President: George Rogers, Purdue University
President-Elect: Jim Gregson, University of Idaho
Secretary: Robert Clark, Penn State University
Treasurer: Mat Sutton, Purdue University
Trustee: Dennis Herschbach, University of Maryland
Trustee (Past-President): Mary Jo Self, Oklahoma State University

Association Manager: Emily McKinley

Journal of sTEm Teacher Education Editorial Board:
Editor: Robert Howell, Fort Hays State University
Associate Editor: Vacant
Assistant Editors: Kara Harris, Indiana State University
Mark Threeton, Penn State University
Paul Asunda, University of Southern Illinois
Dominic Fazarro, The University of Texas-Tyler

Institutional Members

  • Ball State University
  • Manatee County Schools, Bradenton, Florida
  • Purdue University
  • University of Southern Mississippi
  • Temple University
  • Red River College – Winnipeg, Canada
  • Indiana State University – Terre Haute, Indiana