Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

CAPFA achievements noted

Spectrum Volume 17 Issue 15 - December 8, 1994

In its first year of existence, the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (CAPFA) has made significant progress.

In addition to the election of representatives to CAPFA and to other university councils and commissions, grievance procedures designed specifically for administrative and professional faculty members have been completed. These procedures, along with a form for filing a grievance, are available from the offices of the following members of the commission: Ann Spencer, 312 Burruss; Pat Hyer, 201 Burruss; or Judith Jones, 105B Hutcheson.

Extension agent Herb Pettway was elected chair of the Grievance Committee and Tom Ryan, Health Services, was elected chair of the Reconciliation Committee.

The following were elected to represent administrative and professional faculty on university councils and commissions: Commission on Classified Staff--Joyce Martin; Commission on Faculty Affairs--Cliff Slade; Commission on Graduate Studies/Policies--Julie Sina; Commission on Research--Bob Pitman; Commission on Student Affairs--Barbara Cowles; Commission on Undergraduate Studies/Policies--Mark Schaefermeyer; University Council--Sharon McCloskey; University Advisory Council on Strategic Budgeting and Planning--Elizabeth Creamer and Gary Larrowe; Commission on University Support--Neal Vines.

Current members of the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty are: Spencer, Hyer, Jones, Rich Sorensen, Ryan, Rita Purdy, Norrine Spencer, Pettway, Audrey Lee, Carole Thorpe, Tom Baker, Joyce Simmons, Robert Woods, Brenda Neidigh, Eric Petersen, and Marty O'Neill.

O'Neill, who is chair of the commission, encourages any administrative or professional faculty members interested in being involved in university governance to contact her at MONEILL at VTVM1 or at the Development Office at 1-2801.

Elections will be held in the spring for new terms beginning in fall 1995.