Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Senate officers elected

By Netta S. Eisler

Spectrum Volume 17 Issue 28 - April 13, 1995

Faculty Senate officers for 1995-96 have been elected and will take office July 1. The new president is Tom Sherman of curriculum and instruction. Vice president will be Paul Metz of the library, and Eliza Tse of hospitality and tourism management will be next year's secretary.

"The times are challenging," Sherman said. "Clearly we have some issues associated with budget and finances that we have to deal with." The president-elect says the university must learn to respond to these challenges as well as to develop plans for responding to future challenges. "We can't let ourselves become too myopic, just focusing on current problems."

Sherman, who has been a faculty senator for three years, serves on the Commission on Faculty Affairs, the University Council, and the Faculty Ethics Committee. He accepted the position of Faculty Senate president, he said, because "this is a critical time, and we need to have people who are willing to step forward and provide some ideas, some support, and some action. I'm not saying I'm the only one who can do that," he said, "but I was willing to do it at this time."

Sherman said he believes the Faculty Senate has power to influence decisions made at the university."President Torgersen is an eager listener, and responds to what he hears," Sherman said. But he added that he and the senate will look for ways "to be even more efficient and effective in expressing ideas and influencing policy."