Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Reinholtz receives award

Spectrum Volume 17 Issue 37 - July 27, 1995

Charles F. Reinholtz received the 1995 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) National Faculty Advisor Award for his work with the Tech ASME Student Professional Chapter.

Reinholtz joined Tech's Mechanical Engineering Deptartment in 1983 and became the ASME advisor in 1988. The student chapter at Tech, with about 400 members, is the largest in the United States.

Under Reinholtz's advisorship, Tech ASME students have received numerous regional and national awards. For nine out of the past 10 years, the Tech chapter has won the regional Allied-Signal Contest, which measures chapter activities. In 1994, Ryan Vallance, the chapter's chairman, won the Charles Main Award for the most outstanding ASME member in the nation.

In nominating Reinholtz for the national award, Tech ASME students praised their advisor's contributions of time and effort. "To students, Charles Reinholtz is more than a professor, researcher, or faculty advisor; he is also a good friend," states the nomination letter written by the Tech chapter. "Despite volumes of research and other work, his door is always open; his counsel always ready."

Joe McElhaney, 1995 chair of the student chapter, said, "Everyone wanted to sign the nomination letter. I had to limit the number of signatures to 64 and turn more than two dozen students away."

Students in years past also have appreciated the advisory skills of Reinholtz, who received the ASME Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award in 1990 and in 1992.

The ASME awards are among several professional honors received by Reinholtz during his tenure at Tech, including a Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation, a Certificate of Teaching Excellence and the Wine Award for Excellence in Teaching from Tech, and induction into the university's Academy of Teaching Excellence.