Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Outstanding student leaders, advisers honored

By Sarah Bender Staats

Spectrum Volume 18 Issue 31 - May 9, 1996

Virginia Tech recognized outstanding student leaders and advisers in April at the fourth annual University Student Leadership Awards ceremony. Eight students, two student organizations, and two faculty members were honored in nine categories.

The USLA presentation is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, the office of Leadership and Student Organization Programs, and the Service-Learning Center.

Members of the Virginia Tech administration presented the awards throughout the evening. Edward Spencer, assistant vice president for student affairs, presented the A. Alan Baird Award to Kristie Berry. This award is given to a student leader who makes significant contributions to Virginia Tech's residence-life program.

In cooperation with Virginia Tech's Service-Learning Center, two new awards were created this year. Lucinda Roy, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, presented three students, Chad Duty, Jessamyn Franks, and Sung Nguyen, with the Outstanding Student Volunteer awards for their service to the university community. The second award, the Service-Learning Educator of the Year, was awarded to Rachel Parker-Gwin for her dedication to service-learning at Virginia Tech.

Landrum L. Cross, vice president for student affairs, presented the Outstanding Achievement Awards and the Student Organization of the Year Awards. The first outstanding Achievement Award was given to the Greek Councils. The second outstanding achievement award was presented to Heather N. Davis. The Student Organization of the Year was presented to Alpha Phi Omega.

Two graduate students were honored during the ceremony. Len Peters, dean of the Graduate School, presented Jennifer Byrnes with the Outstanding Graduate Student Leader Award. David Ostroth, assistant vice president of student affairs, awarded Michael Schroder the Outstanding New Member Award.

Senior Vice President and Provost Peggy Meszaros recognized Nicole Kiger as Outstanding Undergraduate Student Leader, and Karen Cronin, adviser to Delta Delta Delta, as Adviser of the Year.