Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Engineering faculty members honored

By Liz Crumbley

Spectrum Volume 18 Issue 32 - May 30, 1996

During a reception on April 30, the Virginia Tech College of Engineering honored 12 faculty members for "extraordinary performance in research, service, and teaching." The 12 were selected from a slate of 30 faculty members nominated by engineering departments.

Dean of Engineering F. William Stephenson presented the Dean's Award for Excellence in Research to George Filz, assistant professor of civil engineering (CE); Michael Furey, professor of mechanical engineering (ME); Kent Murphy, associate professor of electrical engineering; and Roger Simpson, the Jack E. Cowling Professor of aerospace and ocean engineering.

Receiving the Dean's Awards for Excellence in Teaching were William Conger, professor and department head of chemical engineering (ChE); Glenn Kraige, professor of engineering science and mechanics; Hugh Munson, associate professor of engineering fundamentals; and Hanif Sherali, the Charles O. Gordon professor of industrial and systems engineering.

The Dean's Awards for Excellence in Public Service were presented to Eugene Brown, professor of ME; Thomas Grizzard, associate professor of CE; Robert Hendricks, professor of materials science and engineering (MSE); and Malcolm McPherson, the Massey professor of mining and minerals engineering.