Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Phi Zeta presents first scholarships

By Jeffrey Douglas

Spectrum Volume 18 Issue 34 - June 27, 1996

The first scholarships ever presented in the 12-year history of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine's most prestigious academic honor society were awarded to eight of the 23 people inducted into the National Society of Phi Zeta during recent annual ceremonies in Squires Student Center.

Donald O. Cordes, a retired faculty member and expert in international veterinary medicine, was the keynote speaker during the event.

Phi Zeta is the honor society of veterinary medicine which recognizes high scholarship, stands for constant advancement of the veterinary profession, and promotes research in matters pertaining to the welfare and diseases of animals. The VMRCVM's Chi Chapter was established in 1984.

"Providing Phi Zeta scholarship support for our students is a goal we have worked toward for some time," said Colin Carrig, secretary-treasurer of Phi Zeta. "Thanks to the generous support of some veterinary professional organizations and corporations, we were pleased to be able to do so this year."

Fourth-year veterinary students participate in three-week off-campus elective clerkships which sometimes involve national and international travel. The scholarship support is designed to assist students in meeting some of the expenses incurred during these educational opportunities, Carrig said.

Scholarship assistance was provided by the Roanoke Valley Veterinary Medical Association, the Southwest Virginia Veterinary Medical Association, Pfizer Animal Health, and Ciba Animal Health.

Membership in Phi Zeta is open to faculty members and graduate students who have made significant contributions to veterinary medicine and to veterinary students who rank in the top 10 percent of the third-year class and the top 25 percent of the fourth-year class.

The 23 new members included three faculty and graduate students, 12 members of the Class of 1996, and eight members of the Class of 1997. The faculty and graduate students inducted were Charlotte Davies, Thomas Inzana, and Eric M. Mills.

Class of 1996 members inducted were C. Kevin Fisher, Angela D. Gell, Jacquelyn Lisa Barron Hasson, Tracy Agostino Lord, Kristina Pelham Mayo, Ashley Jo Norris, Lisa C. Paull, Donald Allen Prater, Mary Renee Prater, Christine Noel Richmond, Claire L. St. Sauver Seifert, and Dana Shenhar.

Class of 1997 members inducted were Christine Nicole Farina, Jennifer A. Hensley, Alexia J. Lawrence, Brett Ellis Packer, Heather Keys Pattie, Jennifer E. Prittie, Betty L. Riedel, and Rebecca Deaner Rose.