Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Dekker elected rector of Board of Visitors

By Larry Hincker

Spectrum Volume 19 Issue 01 - August 29, 1996

Henry J. Dekker, vice rector of the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors, has been elected by the board to serve as rector.

A member of the Virginia Tech Class of 1944, Dekker has served on the university board since 1989 and has been in numerous leadership roles. He is a director of the Virginia Tech Foundation, a senior benefactor of the foundation, a member of the Pamplin College of Business Advisory Board and chairman of its Development Committee, and a member of the Virginia Business Higher Education Council. He currently is chairman of the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets Alumni Association and is credited with leading the effort to revitalize the corps.

Dekker spent his career in various roles in the textile business with extensive experience in Europe and the United States. Later, he founded Louis Féraud of America to import and distribute the line of upscale, ready-to-wear women's apparel on this side of the Atlantic. He retired as vice chairman in 1991.

Dekker has served on the Board of Visitors since July 1989. He received the Alumni Distinguished Service Award in 1987.

Dekker's leadership at Virginia Tech began early. He was class president in each of his first three years and was elected president of the corps in 1942. Like most men of his generation, college was interrupted by war service. After graduation in 1947, he went to work for the university and became treasurer in 1949.

Dekker succeeds Clifton C. Garvin, the retired chairman of the board of Exxon Corp., as rector of the board. Garvin's term on the board expired June 30 after eight years of service on the Board of Visitors, five as rector.

The board also selected James E. Turner, executive vice president-marine group, General Dynamics Corp., as the new vice rector of the board.