Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Faculty Senate elects officers

By John Ashby

Spectrum Volume 19 Issue 29 - April 24, 1997

At the first of two meetings this month, the Faculty Senate elected officers for the next term and voted to endorse the direction the Commission on Faculty Affairs is taking with the Post Tenure Review/Severe Sanctions Policy.

Ellsworth "Skip" Fuhrman, sociology, was elected president; Sigrid Gustafson, psychology, was elected vice president; and Kerry Redican, teaching and learning, was re-elected secretary-treasurer.

Jim McKenna presented a recap of the severe-sanctions portions of the policy, which has been published at key points in the process in Spectrum. Several senators expressed concern for possible negative effects of the policy, including impact on tenure or arbitrary standards being established within departments. Other senators saw the policy as a way to deal with faculty "deadwood" short of dismissal.

The Faculty Senate will hold its final meeting of the academic year April 29.