Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Phi Kappa Phi chapter initiates new members

Spectrum Volume 19 Issue 30 - May 1, 1997

The Virginia Tech chapter of the national Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi held its annual banquet and initiation of new members April 21.

The primary objective of Phi Kappa Phi is the recognition and encouragement of superior scholarship in all academic disciplines. This year's celebration will be especially important since it marks the 125th anniversary of the founding of Virginia Tech, the 100th anniversary of the founding of Phi Kappa Phi, and the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Virginia Tech Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi.

In recognition of these events, the society honored three emeritus members who represent what is best about the honor society and Virginia Tech: Don A. Garst, retired faculty member of the Department of Civil Engineering; June Schmidt of the Department of Teaching and Learning; and W. Emory Pace from the Department of Mathematics.

In addition, four faculty members became new initiates of the society: John V. Perumpral from the Department of Biological and Systems Engineering; Russell T. Jones from the Department of Psychology; Alan E. Bayer from the Center for Survey Research; and Deidre A. Hirschfeld from engineering fundamentals.

Janet Johnson, a former president of the Virginia Tech Chapter and currently dean of the College of Human Resources and Education, was the invited speaker at the initiation ceremony.

The banquet also recognized Medallion Award recipients--seniors with the highest QCA--for each college and the winners of two Phi Kappa Phi awards for academic excellence. Robyn Moore, an art major in the College of Arts and Sciences, received a $1,000 Award of Excellence from the National Office. Jay Hulings, a double major in economics and political science, received a $500 Chapter Award.

New chapter officers for 1997-98 are: president--Jerry Williams, horticulture; vice president--Andrew Belser, University Honors Program; secretary--Garst, civil engineering; treasurer--David Parrish, crop and soil environmental sciences; membership--Eldridge Collins, biological systems engineering; marshall--Don Mullins, entomology; and publicity--Paul Heilker, English.