Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Outreach Advisory Council appointed

By Catherine Doss

Spectrum Volume 19 Issue 31 - May 22, 1997

An Outreach Advisory Council has been appointed at Virginia Tech. The council is comprised of representatives from each of the university's colleges who will serve as liaisons between the deans and the vice provost for outreach.

Outreach at Virginia Tech is defined as the transfer and exchange of knowledge and experience between the institution and society. Outreach permeates all parts of Virginia Tech's mission of teaching, research, and public service. It involves a broad range of activities of faculty and staff members, and students, including Extension and other public-service activities; continuing education; off-campus credit courses; sponsored public service, economic development, and technical assistance; faculty consulting; and faculty-directed student-service projects.

In many cases, outreach involves establishing creative partnerships with business, industry, local governments and other educational institutions that enable the university to reach out and connect with numerous facets of life in the commonwealth.

"As a land-grant university, Virginia Tech has a compelling obligation to be accountable to the communities it serves," said Dixon B. Hanna, interim vice provost for outreach. "As a public university, we need to be responsive to the wider educational needs and aspirations of the general population. The Outreach Advisory Council will help ensure that the knowledge generated, taught, and applied at the university is accessible to those outside the campus community."

Representatives on the council are: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences: Clark Jones, John White; College of Architecture and Urban Studies: Donna Dunay, Ben Johnson, John Randolph; College of Arts and Sciences: Doris Zallen, Michele James-Deramo; Pamplin College of Business: Thirwall Bonham; College of Engineering: Walter O'Brien; College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources: James Johnson; College of Human Resources and Education: Roberta Minish, J.C. Gordon; College of Veterinary Medicine, Robert Martin.