Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Staff Senate chooses new officers

By Netta S. Smith

Spectrum Volume 19 Issue 32 - June 5, 1997

The Staff Senate has elected Spencer Allen, technical director of music for the Music Department, for a second term as senate president.
Terry Lawrence, medical illustrator/designer for the College of Veterinary Medicine, was elected vice president. Joy Thorn, an accountant in the College of Human Resources and Education, will serve as secretary-treasurer. Delbert Jones, laboratory specialist advanced in the Biochemistry Resource Lab of the College of Veterinary Medicine, will serve a second term as parliamentarian.
"I believe as staff members in a shared governance structure, we must we willing to be involved and serve where needed, "Allen said. He added that staff senators must "have concern for the university as a whole and not only our personal jobs and departments. We must communicate with others and reach decisions that will benefit us all and improve the university."
Ben Poe, a computer systems engineer for the mechanical-engineering department, was elected to serve on the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs.
The following were elected to the Commission on Classified Staff Affairs: senators Jon Wooge, agricultural manager senior for the college farms of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Cindy Harrison, office manager in risk management and administrative assistant in the University Controller's Office; and Virginia Viers, laboratory specialist senior in the College of Veterinary Medicine. From academic units, Valerie Myers, program support technician in the Department of Dairy Science; and Mary Whitlock of the Dean's Office in the College of Human Resources and Education. From administrative units, Marge Dellers, executive secretary to the director of Public Safety, Health, and Transportation.
Tom Hergert, film and video producer/director for University Relations, was elected to the Commission on Faculty Affairs. Tina Shanklin, laboratory specialist in the Department of Animal and Poultry Sciences, was elected to the Commission on Outreach. Barbara Day, office services specialist in the Physics Department, was elected to the Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies. Mary Conrad was elected to the Commission on University Support. Wyatt Sasser, director of custodial services for Physical Plant, was elected to the Transportation and Parking Committee. Widget Shannon was elected to the Commencement Committee.
In other business, Allen reported that the Staff Senate "had a great involvement in the new smoking policy." Several years ago a senate subcommittee investigated smoking on campus and drew up a suggested policy.