Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

CIL technology grants awarded

By Catherine Doss

Spectrum Volume 20 Issue 31 - May 21, 1998

Eighteen projects have been awarded grants from the Center for Innovation in Learning (CIL) to integrate technology into undergraduate, graduate, and professional courses. This third series of CIL grants will run from July 1, 1998-June 30, 1999. CIL, with assistance from selected colleges, awarded a total of $464,950 in grant money.
"The CIL grant program continues to attract excellent proposals," said Anne H. Moore, director of information-technology initiatives. "Faculty members are submitting innovative approaches to incorporate technology in teaching, approaches that assist in achieving learning outcomes that describe independent, critically thinking, and technologically literate learners across content areas."
Projects that were awarded funding were designed with an emphasis on asynchronous course development and had a plan for assessment of the program or course. They included high-demand core-curriculum courses, high-demand upper-level undergraduate course, graduate and professional programs, and multi-purpose course development.
The grant winners are Christine Anderson-Cook and Timothy Robinson, statistics; Raga Bakhit, human nutrition, foods, and exercise; Holly Bender, Barbara Lockee, and Rick Mills, veterinary medicine; Carol Burger, Muriel Lederman, Gary Downey, Martha McCaughey, Bernice Hausman, Sarah Hamilton, Ingrid Banks, and Elizabeth Creamer, arts and sciences (inter-disciplinary); Truman Capone, art; Quinsan Ciao, architecture; John Dascanio, William Ley, David Moll, and John Carroll, veterinary medicine; Alan Kornhauser, energy management; Barbara Lockee, Greg Sherman, Kathy Cennamo, and Mike Moore, education; Arvid Myklebust, mechanical engineering; Naraine Persaud, agriculture; Frank Quinn, math; Robert Siegle, English; Nammalwar Sriranganathan, Edward Stephenson, Stephen Boyle, and Gerhardt Schurig, veterinary medicine; Harold Stubblefield, adult learning and human resources; Karen Swenson, Cheryl Ruggiero, Randy Patton, and Len Hatfield, English; Thomas Ward and Herve Marand, chemistry; Michael Weaver and Patricia Hipkins, entomology.