Spectrum Logo
A non-profit publication of the Office of the University Relations of Virginia Tech,
including The Conductor, a special section of the Spectrum printed 4 times a year

Members named
to diversity
advisory council

By Clara B. Cox

Spectrum Volume 21 Issue 15 - December 10, 1998

Twenty-one members of the university community have been named to the new Advisory Council on Diversity and Multicultural Affairs (ACDMA).
Charter members of the council representing colleges include Randy Grayson, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Patricia Edwards, College of Architecture and Urban Studies; Myra Gordon, College of Arts and Sciences; John Easterwood, Pamplin College of Business; Richard Conners, College of Engineering; Jim Berkson, College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources; Gretchen Givens, College of Human Resources and Education; and Niki Parker, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine.
Other ACDMA members and the areas they represent are Barbara Pendergrass, Commission on Student Affairs; Cathy Jacobs, Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty; Kerry Redican, Faculty Senate; Ben Poe, Staff Senate; Lyn Gray, international programs; David Travis, Cooperative Extension; Susan Angle, the disabled; David Chambers, athletics; Muriel Flynn, Personnel Services; Barry Simmons, Scholarships and Financial Aid; Laura Gorfkle, Women's Studies; Eileen Hitchingham, University Libraries; and Martha Johnson, Graduate School.
According to Benjamin Dixon, vice president for multicultural affairs, the essential elements of the council's responsibilities are communication, coordination, and consultation.
"As a university-wide advisory group, the council will advise and assist the Office of Multicultural Affairs in the achievement of its mission, which broadly addresses the diversity and multi-cultural concerns of students and faculty and staff members," Dixon said.
The first meeting of the council will be held today.