QBARS v25n1 - Table of Contents

R. bullatum x 'Elsie Fry'
R. cinnabarinum var. blandfordiaeflorum
Photo by J.P. Evans, M.D.
See Cover Article

The Quarterly Bulletin
of the
American Rhododendron Society

January, 1971
Vol. 25 No. 1

Published quarterly by the AMERICAN RHODODENDRON SOCIETY, Rt. 2, Box 254, Aurora, Oregon. Membership subscription to the American Rhododendron Society $7.50 a year. The Quarterly Bulletin of the American Rhododendron Society is included as a benefit of membership. Copyright 1971 by the American Rhododendron Society. Permission to reprint any portion of this volume must be granted by the Society.

Issue Contents
A. R. S. 1971 National Convention
by Alfred S. Martin
A Letter and Appeal
by Mrs. Henry G. Clarke
A Tetraploid R. carolinianum
by Dr. August E. Kehr
Potting or No Potting
by F. W. Schumacher
How to Shoot a Pistil
by David G. Leach
Species vs. Hybrids
by Hadley Osborn
Leonard Franklin Frisbee
by William E. Avery, M.D.
Seed Exchange Notes
by Mrs. Robert Berry
Thirty Years of Rhododendron

by Ruth M. Wood
Survey of Hybrids & Species in the Atlanta Area
by Robert L. Schwind
The Pacific Rhododendron Conference of 1970
by A. W. Headlam
Flowers from Kurume to Yakushima, Japan 1970
by Frank Doleshy
Large Leaved Species in Britain
by John D. Johnston
Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot
by Hadley Osborn
R. elliottii 'War Paint'
by Mrs. Ray James
Bronze Medal Presented to Britt Smith
Mrs. Robert L. Badger
Our Front Cover Advertisements

ARS logo
President Western Vice President Eastern Vice President
Secretary-Treasurer Executive Secretary
Editor Associate Editor Contributing Editor
MELVIN C. ALLEN, Santa Cruz, Calif., President Monterey Bay Chapter
CHARLES H. ANDERSON, Bellevue, Wn., Term expires 1971
LEWIS BAGOLY, Phoenixville, Pa., President Valley Forge Chapter
RICHARD J. BABA, Chicago, Ill., President Midwest Chapter
WARREN BERG, Kent, Wn., Term expires 1973
MRS. ROBERT BERRY, Aberdeen, Wn., Terms expires 1972
GEORGE BETTS, Rochester, Wa, President Lewis County Chapter
JOHN E. BOEGGEMAN, West Nyack, N.Y., President Tappan Zee Chapter
BEN M. BOYD, Atlanta, Ga., President Azalea Chapter
JAMES CAPERCI, Seattle, Wn., Term expires 1973
GEORGE CLARKE, Portland, Ore., Term expires 1974
DR. J. HAROLD CLARKE, Long Beach, Wn., Term expires 1972
FRED COLLINS, Haney, B.C., Canada, President, Vancouver, B.C. Chapter
ROBERT COMERFORD, Marion, Ore., Term expires 1972
ARTHUR COYLE, Waller, Tex., President Southern Chapter
FRANK DOLESHY, Seattle, Wa., Term Expires 1971
ARTHUR P. DOME, Seattle, Wn., President Seattle Chapter
EDWARD B. DUNN, Seattle, Wn., Past President-A.R.S.
DARIUS ECCLES, Port Townsend, Wn., President Olympic Peninsula Chapter
NEWTON W. EDWARDS, Alexandria, Va., President Potomac Valley Chapter
JOHN E. EICHELSER, Olympia, Wn., President Olympia Chapter
EVERETT FARWELL JR., Woodside, Ca., President San Mateo County Chapter
M. ROBERT FENTON, Pittsburgh, Pa., President Great Lakes Chapter
FRED GALLE, Pine Mountain, Ga., Term expires 1972
DR. DAVID GOHEEN, Camas, Wa., President Portland Chapter
MRS. JAMES HAINES, Aberdeen, Wn., President Grays Harbor Chapter
JOHN HENNY, Brooks, Ore., Term expires 1973
MRS. LEON J. HEUSER, Robbinsville, N.J., President Princeton Chapter
HENRY HEYDERHOFF, Bloomingdale, N.J., President New Jersey Chapter
MRS. HARVEY HOOKS, Birmingham, Ala., President Birmingham Chapter
R. CURT HUEY, Springfield, Ore., President Eugene Chapter
OLAV JACOBSEN, Bainbridge Island, Wa., President North Kitsap Chapter
FRED E. KNAPP, Locust Valley, N. Y., President New York Chapter
R. G. MAXWELL, Biltmore, N.C., President Southeastern Chapter
EDMUND V. MEZITT, Hopkington, Mass., President Massachusetts Chapter
RAY MICHEL, Indianapolis, Ind., President Indianapolis Chapter
HARRY NASH, Waynesboro, Va., President Middle Atlantic Chapter
A. HADLEY OSBORN, El Cerrito, Calif., President California Chapter
DEVERN W. PINNOCK, M.D., Florence, Ore, President Siuslaw Chapter
DR. EMERSON A. REED, Media, Pa., President Philadelphia Chapter
GORDON SAHNOW, JR., Hillsboro, Ore., President Tualatin Valley Chapter
BRITT M. SMITH, Kent, Wash., President Tacoma Chapter
RALPH H. SMITH, Delmar, N.Y., President Mohawk-Hudson Chapter
MRS. DUANE STRONG, Coos Bay, Ore., President Southwestern Oregon Chapter
FRANK TRAVIS, JR., Shelton, Wn., President Shelton Chapter
TED VAN VEEN, Portland, Ore., Term expires 1973
BISHOP VON WETTBERG, Oxford, Conn., President Connecticut Chapter
THOMAS WHEELDON, M.D., Richmond, Va., Term expires 1971
JAMES A. WRIGHT, Virginia Beach, Va., President Tidewater Chapter
Copy should be received by the 15th of the month preceding date of publication
FULL PAGE One-Time Rate $35.00 Four-Time Rate $125.00
ONE HALF PAGE One-Time Rate $20.00 Four-Time Rate $70.00
ONE FOURTH PAGE One-Time Rate $10.00 Four-Time Rate $35.00
RATE PER INCH One-Time Rate $3.00 Four-Time Rate $10.00
For information on membership, publications, and advertising write to the Executive Secretary, Mrs. William Curtis, Sherwood, Ore.  Send material for Bulletin to P. H. Brydon, Salem, Ore.