QBARS v22n3 - Table of Contents

R. occidentale
R. occidentale SM 218
See Cover Article

The Quarterly Bulletin
of the
American Rhododendron Society

July 15, 1968
Vol. 22 No. 3

Published quarterly by the AMERICAN RHODODENDRON SOCIETY, Rt. 2, Box 254, Aurora, Oregon. Membership subscription to the American Rhododendron Society $7.50 a year. The Quarterly Bulletin of the American Rhododendron Society is included as a benefit of membership. Copyright 1968 by the American Rhododendron Society. Permission to reprint any portion of this volume must be granted in writing by the Society.

Issue Contents
Further Trips to the R. occidentale Patches
by Frank Mossman and Britt Smith
President's Remarks at the Annual Meeting
by Edward B. Dunn
Collecting Rhododendrons in New Guinea
by Maurice H. Sumner
Distribution and Ecology of Certain Japanese Rhododendrons
by Frank Doleshy
Rhododendrons for the Small Garden
by Wales Wood
What's in a Name
by Robert G. Shanklin
Rhododendron Presented to
King of Norway
Rhododendrons and Azaleas of Japan
by K. Wada
Seed Exchange - 'S Wonderful
by Esther Berry
Minutes of the Annual Meeting
by Robert L. Ticknor, Ph.D
Gold Medal Award Citation for Paul Jay Bowman, M.D. Rhododendrons 1968
by Edith Phetteplace
Gold Medal Award Citation for Carl Phetteplace, M .D. Eighteenth Annual Seattle
Rhododendron Show
New York Chapter Show California Chapter Show
Great Lakes Chapter Show Princeton Cut Truss Show
Eugene Chapter Show Midwest Chapter Show
Our Front Cover Grays Harbor Chapter Show
Test Garden Ready for Business A.R.S. Plant Registry
The Rhododendron Species Foundation Pictures Unrelated to Text

ARS Logo
President Vice President
Secretary-Treasurer Executive Secretary Editor
HARLEY ADAMSON, Montesano, Wash., President Gray's Harbor Chapter
CHARLES H. ANDERSON, Seattle, Wash., Term expires 1969
ROBERT L. BADGER, Tacoma, Wash., President Tacoma Chapter
GEORGE W. BAKER, Norfolk, Va., President Tidewater Chapter
MRS. ROBERT BERRY, Aberdeen, Wash., Term expires 1969
JOHN BOEGGEMAN, West Nyack, N.Y., President Tappan Zee Chapter
DR. BEN T. BRIGGS, Shelton, Wash., President Shelton Chapter
JAMES CAPERCI, Seattle, Wash., Term expires 1971
MERLE E. CISNEY, Camas, Wash., Term expires 1969
GEORGE W. CLARKE, Portland, Ore., President Portland Chapter
R. E. COMERFORD, Marion, Ore., Term expires 1969
RUSSELL COOVERT, Tacoma, Wash., Term expires 1969
ARTHUR I. COYLE, Waller, Texas, President Southern Chapter
DARRIS ECCLES, Port Townsend, Wash., President Olympic Peninsula Chapter
JAMES GOSSLER, Springfield, Ore., President Eugene Chapter
MRS. EMIL F. HAGER, JR., Albertson, N.Y., President New York Chapter
PAUL M. HARRIS, M.D., Indianapolis, Ind., President Indianapolis Chapter
A. W. HARTMAN, Mansfield, Ohio, President Great Lakes Chapter
JOHN HENNY, Brooks, Ore., Term expires 1971
CHARLES HERBERT, Phoenixville, Pa., President Valley Forge Chapter
LUDWIG HOFFMAN, Bloomfield, Conn., President Connecticut Chapter
SYLVESTER HUBBARD, Mechanicsville, Pa., President Philadelphia Chapter
CHARLES KWITCHOFF, Ramsey, N. J., President New Jersey Chapter
ROBERT E. LEE, Charlottesville, Va., President Middle Atlantic Chapter
J. G. LOFTHOUSE, Vancouver, B. C., President Vancouver, B. C. Chapter
ALFRED S. MARTIN, Ambler, Pa., Term expires 1969
DONALD MCCLURE, Seattle, Wash., Term expires 1970
THOMAS J. MCGUIRE, Portland, Ore., President Tualatin Valley Chapter
BEN NELSON, Suquamish, Wash., Term expires 1970
HADLEY OSBORN, El Cerrito, Cal., President California Chapter
I. S. ROSSITER, Hopewell, N.J., President Princeton Chapter
HOWARD A. SHORT, Bainbridge Island, Wash., President North Kitsap Chapter
C. E. SIMONS, JR., M.D., Edmonds, Wash., President Seattle Chapter
CECIL SMITH, Aurora, Ore., Term expires 1971
RALPH H. SMITH, Delmar, N. Y., President Albany-Mohawk Chapter
MARK SPALDING, Olympia, Wash., President Olympia Chapter
SAM TATE, West Asheville, N. C., President Southeastern Chapter
L. O. TODD, JR., Stone Mountain, Ga., President Azalea Chapter
THOMAS WHEELDON, M.D., Richmond, Va., Term expires 1971
KEN WINDRED, COOS Bay, Ore., President Southwestern Oregon Chapter
DONALD ZAUN, Wasco, Ill., President Midwest Chapter
Copy should be received by the 15th of the month preceding date of publication
FULL PAGE One-Time Rate $35.00 Four-Time Rate $125.00
ONE HALF PAGE One-Time Rate $20.00 Four-Time Rate $70.00
ONE FOURTH PAGE One-Time Rate $10.00 Four-Time Rate $35.00
RATE PER INCH One-Time Rate $3.00 Four-Time Rate $10.00
For information on membership, publications, and advertising write to the Executive Secretary, Mrs. William Curtis, Sherwood, Ore. Send material for Bulletin to Dr. J. Harold Clarke, Editor Long Beach, Wash.